The Farm; St. Lawrence County

Oneida County Farmland Protection

Agriculture District Open Enrollment period is January 1st to January 31st.CLICK HERE  for an application.

In 2016, Cornell Cooperative Extension Oneida County, with the support of New York's Department of Agriculture and Markets and the Oneida County Planning Department, lead a process of updating Oneida County's Agricultural and Farmland Protection Plan. Oneida County Executive Anthony J. Picente Jr. named a Farmland Protection Planning Task Force to develop and propose an updated Plan. After a series of public meetings around the county and a public hearing, the Oneida County Board of Legislators adopted the Plan in June 2017.

For a copy of the 2017 Oneida County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Plan CLICK HERE  

The Oneida County Farmland Protection Board is an eleven member board that was established by the Oneida County Legislature. The board advises the legislative body concerning Agriculture District creation, modification, continuation or termination. They review and comment on Notices of Intent, acquisition of an interest in land and/or construction of water/sewer facilities within an agricultural district, assess and approve county Agricultural and Farmland Protection Plans, and can request the commission of Ag & Mkts to review any state agency rules and regulations that effect agricultural activities.

Chair: Brymer Humphreys

Brian Mandryck, County Legislator

John R. Kent, Jr., Planning Commissioner

Kathy Pilbeam, Director of Real Property Tax Service

Roger Crary, Oneida County Soil & Water Representative

Marty Broccoli, CCE AED Specialist

Thomas Cassidy

Michael J. Cosgrove

Andy Gale

Paul vanLieshout

Paul Snider


Rita Marie "Remi" Link
Ag. Economic Development Program Coordinator
(315) 736-3394 Ext. 111

Last updated October 9, 2018